• Print
  • a a a

LAC - Lugano Art and Culture

Lugano’s new cultural centre, LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura was created with the aim of adding value to the cultural and artistic life of the city and the region

THE BUILDING

With a volume of 180,000 m³ the imposing structure rises over the site of the former Palace hotel. The strong point of the LAC’s design is its proximity to the lake. The entrance hall (650 m²) which provides access to the theatre and concert hall is a huge window which makes the interface between interior and exterior almost invisible.

THE MUSEUM

The Museo d’Arte della Svizzera Italiana was born from the merging of the Museo Cantonale d’Arte with the Museo della Città. Comprising 5 floors, 2000 m², it was designed to allow the art works themselves to be protagonists, to be a space for silence and contemplation. One floor contains the permanent collection, the other 1820 m² are dedicated to temporary exhibitions. At around 600 m², a single floor of the LAC has the same exhibition area as the entire Villa Malpensata, the current location of the city’s Museo d’Arte.

THE THEATRE AND CONCERT HALL

800 m², 1000 seats, a modular acoustic shell, a disappearing orchestra pit: here is a concert hall that can transform into a theatre and be a venue for any kind of performance, from symphonies to jazz, from opera to musicals, from dance to spoken theatre. Thanks to the collaboration between architect Ivano Gianola and Müller BBM of Munich (leader in the engineering field), the LAC’s theatre and concert hall is the perfect combination between architectural aesthetics and acoustic quality.

Last modified 01 September 2016

Google Maps

• Imprimer
  • a a a

Le LAC

Le centre culturel de la ville de Lugano, dénommé LAC (Lugano Arte e Cultura), a pour objectif de valoriser l’offre culturelle et artistique de la ville et de la région

L’ÉDIFICE

Avec un volume de 180 000 m³, l'imposant édifice a été construit à l’emplacement de l’ex-hôtel Palace. Le point fort de l’architecture du centre culturel est la proximité du lac. Le hall (650 m²), à partir duquel on accède au musée et à la salle de théâtre et de concert, est une grande baie vitrée qui rend les limites entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur à peine perceptibles.

LE MUSÉE

Le Museo d'Arte della Svizzera Italiana est né de l’union entre le Musée cantonal d’art et le Musée d’art de la ville de Lugano. 5 étages et 2500 m² conçus pour que les œuvres d’art soient les protagonistes, pour inciter au silence et à la contemplation. Un étage dédié à la collection permanente et les 1820 m² restants réservés aux expositions temporaires. Un seul étage du musée du LAC, soit 600 m² environ, représente la superficie de toute la Villa Malpensata qui abrite actuellement le siège du Musée d’art de la ville.

LA SALLE DE THÉÂTRE ET DE CONCERT

800 m² et 1000 places, une coque acoustique modulable, une fosse d’orchestre escamotable pour que la salle de concert puisse devenir salle de théâtre et accueillir tous types de spectacles, des concerts symphoniques aux concerts de jazz, de l’opéra à l’opérette, de la danse au théâtre. Grâce à la collaboration  entre l’architecte Ivano Gianola et la Müller BBM de Munich (entreprise leader dans le secteur de l’ingénierie) la salle de théâtre et de concert du LAC est l’harmonie parfaite entre esthétique architecturale et qualité acoustique. Le programme musical du LAC sera assuré par LuganoMusica et le programme théâtral par LuganoInScena.

Dernière modification 01 septembre 2016

Google Maps